I’m whirling with thoughts right now. Stirred up by my whirlwind weekend (say that three times fast!). I flew out to Seattle on Thursday morning at 5am, and didn’t reach my final destination until 1:00pm on Friday. We stopped for 2-3 hours to sleep. Plane, plane, bus, car, car. That was the order of my travels; rewind it and you get my trip back.

Despite the short amount of time I actually had in Smithers, B.C. for my best friend’s wedding, I come away feeling refreshed. Not bodily, because my body is about to crap out on me. Haha. But in my soul, deep down, I feel warm. Embraced. Deeply loved.

My heart is so full thinking of the things I’ve seen. I saw my lovely best friend, embraced by those she grew up around. Showered with so much love that it seemed to sparkle in each little sunbeam that danced down on her hair while she said her vows. Love that exploded on the dance floor, sang tears into the microphone, whispered sweet nothings into her ear with a hand on the small of her back. So. much. love.

Love that I poured out, too, with cards, and words, and shared little smiles in the bathroom on the morning of. I’ve known you since I was 5, dear best, and here we are still. 18 years later. What is more beautiful than seeing you, in your white wedding dress, standing here after all this time? My heart is full.

There was so much love that it overflowed and spilled out on everyone.  There was just too much love to keep inside. I have to say that I think everyone at this wedding got a little sparkly thimbleful of love this weekend, and that thimble had enough for a good long drink. Some of us standing a little closer got a good dumping of shiny love. A pailful-of-water-dumping of shiny love.

Still in awe. Still amazed. Still so full of love for the beautiful woman that inspired this showering – so incredibly proud I get to call her best friend. This is what comes to mind of the newly-crowned Mrs. Hutton:

“A wife of noble character who can find?
She is worth far more than rubies…
“Many women do noble things,
but you surpass them all.”
Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting;
but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.
Honor her for all that her hands have done,
and let her works bring her praise at the city gate.”

